Faculty/Staff Community Service-Learning Awards


Every other year, MiCC is happy to be able to recognize the contributions of member campuses faculty or staff in the areas of community service and service-learning. Each member campus has the opportunity to select one faculty or staff award recipient who uses modeling, influencing, or instruction to engage or influence students to be involved in community service or service-learning. This special recognition of contributions to campus and community highlights the very best in higher education.

 Recipients are determined by each campus. Some institutions utilize a campus committee or coordinate this process through their community service or service-learning offices.  

When nominating your award recipient, you will be asked to give your contact information, the awardees contact information, and to provide a brief summary of the nominee’s accomplishments in engaging or influencing students to be involved in community service, service-learning or other forms of civic engagement through modeling, mentoring or instruction (50 – 100 words to be utilized in the award publicity and program).

The next nomination process will open in the fall of 2015 and recipients will be honored during the Civic Engagement Institute Awards Ceremony in the winter of 2016.

If you have any questions, please contact Shelley Long, Network Coordinator.

2013-2014 Faculty/Staff Community Service-Learning Award Winners

Alma College Ms. Carol Fike, Professor, Theatre & Dance
Andrews University Dr. Jacquelyn Warwick, Professor of Marketing - School of Business
Aquinas College Ms. Cynthia VanGelderen, MBA, CPA, Department Chair, Associate Professor of Accounting
Central Michigan University Dr. Ren Hullender, Assistant Professor, Department of Art and Design
Davenport University Ms. Melissa Lewis, Assistant Professor of English
Delta College Dr. Kim Klein & Ms. Lisa Lawrason, Associate Professors of Political Science
Eastern Michigan University Ms. Jeanette Kindred, Associate Professor, Communications
Ferris State University Dr. Sarah Hinkley, Associate Professor & Chief of Vision Rehabilitation Services
Grand Rapids Community College Ms. Melanie Schiele-Gady, Professor
Grand Valley State University Dr. Heather Carpenter, Assistant Professor of Nonprofit Management
Hope College Dr. Debra Swanson, Professor of Sociology
Kalamazoo College Ms. Sarah Lindley, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Art & Art History
Kellogg Community College Ms. Glenda Morling, Social Science Faculty
Kirtland Community College Mr. Charles Hinman, Instructor
Madonna University Dr. Veronica Riha, Professor
Marygrove College Dr. Loretta Woodard, Associate Professor of English
Michigan State University Ms. Nicole Springer, Associate Director, Center for Service Learning & Civic Engagement
Mott Community College Ms. Alana Ferguson, Faculty, Business Division
Northern Michigan University Dr. Charles Ganzert, Professor, Communication & Performance Studies
Northwestern Michigan College Ms. Kari Kahler, Associate Dean of Learning Services
Schoolcraft College Ms. Elizabeth Grace, Professor
Siena Heights University Mr. Gabriel Dunbar, Director of Student Engagement
University of Michigan-Dearborn Dr. Paul Draus, Associate Professor of Sociology
University of Michigan - Flint Ms. Rebecca Pettengill, Corporate and Foundation Relations Officer
Western Michigan University Dr. Barbara Barton, Associate Professor, Department of Social Work


History of Award Winners